BOOK REVIEW: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell


51ud+40bnjL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

Published: 2011

Genre: contemporary slash chick-lit

Personal rating: 3/5

After reading the overview of the book on Goodreads , I’ve kinda gotten really excited about reading it and have been nagging my sister to send it to my phones book library (having-no-money Maša means having no actual books *sad face*). I thought the plot of the book sounded interesting and different so I gave it a go. And I wasn’t dissapointed. Yet, I wasn’t over-thrilled with it, either.

There are three main characters in the book: Lincoln O’Neill, a 28-year-old man, who gets a weird job at a newspaper company called The Courier – he becomes ”internet security officer”, which basically means he has to snoop on other peoples’ e-mails and send warnings if they’re not strictly work-related. Then there are Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder, two friends whose e-mails should definitely get flagged as inappropriate, but Lincoln gets so interested in their lives that he lets it pass and continues reading their messages everytime they pop up in his ‘security folder’. He (of course) eventually starts falling for Beth, who actually already has a long-term boyfriend but that doesn’t stop him from liking her. Not that he actually ever saw her in real life before.

 

  • CONS

After reading Rowell’s Eleanor and Park, which I reaaaaally liked because it was so different from anything I’ve read before (meaning books in this genre), I thought this one is going to be just as good and yet I was dissappointed at how unbelievably predictable it was. Despite its’ funny parts it’s like any other contemporary book I’ve read before. I realize that it’s hard to write this kind of book that would wow the heck out of me, but still. Furthermore, I’m still waiting for someone to use other adjectives than ‘smart, funny, pretty and kind’ to describe women . Meh.

 

  • PROS

The main thing that I loved about the book was that it didn’t go for the ‘love at first sight’ thing. I like how Lincoln fell in love with Beth without even seeing her first. As cheesy as it sounds, he fell in love in her soul, her personality that showed through her messages. I would like to see if he would feel the same way if she was completely different than described after he finally sees her for the first time (spoiler: brown-haired beauty with lots of freckles on her face), but you know, what can I do, I wasn’t the one writing it. I also like that it’s written from a man’s point of view for a change. Also, Lincoln is, despite his awkward social skills, real good with words when it comes to describing love. Me likey.

All in all, it’s a very easy read and even people who have trouble with English language would get through it in a day (if you read it in English, that is. Duh). So, yay for that.

 

  • TO SUM UP …

tumblr_lhv1v4RYJS1qdlaas

 

  • FAVOURITE QUOTE

”Do you believe in love at first sight?”

”I don’t know. Do you believe in love before that?”

 

’till next time,

podpis

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

