BOOK REVIEW: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

throne-of-glassThe most feared assassin in Adarlan, 18-years-old Celaena Sardothien, is given an offer after spending a year in the salt mines prison of Endovier – participate in a competition, win it and for four years become a personal assassin of the King of Adarlan, the very person who put her in the salt mines. By doing that, she would earn her long-awaited freedom. That or to stay in the prison to die. Celaena has no intention of fulfiling that, so she accepts the offer and is dragged from the salt mines by the Crown Prince, Dorian, and the Captain of the Guard, Chaol. And so the story begins.

 

 

WARNING: contains spoilers

I originally rated Throne of Glass 3.5 stars back in April, when I first picked it up, but I changed my mind when rereading this book. The reason behind the original rating is a bit stupid, to be honest. I just wasn’t feeling it at the time. Look at me now – my favourite book series at all times. Still, even though Throne of Glass books are indeed those books, I gladly pick up at any times and happily reread my favourite snippets or just some random parts of the books and it’d feel like I’m reading it for the first time and I’d be just as full of emotions, no matter how many times I read those pages, I still give this one a 4 stars rating. (yes, that 0.5 star counts a lot)

The whole competition makes me feel confused. It just feels a bit stupid to invite 24 lethal humans in the very heart of Adarlan and expect them to behave good. Yeah, yeah, it was clear, when the King threaten to execute them if there was any trouble, but how did Nox escape then? And that didn’t even bring that much interest as it should (what I find fascinating is that Celaena wasn’t even questioned of his departure even though it was clear she and Nox were friends), when the King made sure to tell them this competition is a secret to the world outside his court. But then again, why is that so secretive? Every king should have an assassin as his right-hand, shouldn’t they? The challenges are a bit boring for my taste – I thought they’d be something epic, not an archery competition. And why shouldn’t they kill eachother while doing these challenges, who even cares about them, they’re criminals? A bit harsh, yes, but that’s what I thought while reading the scene with the final contest, when there wasn’t allowed to go further than trapping their fellow competitors in a position of death. Why should Chaol be in any danger of being executed for killing Cain if he was to die in whatever place he came from for his crimes anyway.

What made me add that 0.5 star, you may ask. As I progressed through the other 4 books in the series, I became more an more in love with Celaena and came to the point, where I decided she was my favourite book character out there. I got to understand her through the books – that got me to thinking how much I missed in the first book. Maybe she’s arrogant and makes bad decisions at times, but she’s a brave and a strong 18-year-old who just wants to get her freedom, which she never thought she’d get a chance to have when she was in Endovier. There’s something dark in her, but she’s not evil. When rereading books you stumble across things, that make so much more sense, and sometimes those things are emotionally related – for example, I knew what happened to them so the mentioning of her parents and her reaction broke me, even though that wasn’t told from her POV. Which made the feels even more strong. Also, +0.5 star because everything Maas writes is masterpiece, end of story.

I’m not a big fan of love triangels, but I don’t hate them. I love both Dorian and Chaol, and their interest in Celaena is acceptable. I don’t have issues of the transition from Sam to Dorian, because Dorian is really one of the kindest and bravest characters out there (which shows more in the next books of the series), but I’m not a hardcore shipper of the two of them. It seemed a bit rushed, but it was still fun reading their scenes. Poor baby Dorian, after finally accepting that it didn’t matter how different they were, believing they could still make it work, had to let her go – I feel sorry for him. And as I said, when rereading, everything just becomes more clearer and with this situation of her wanting only friendship, makes my heart ache, because that was the start of Dorian loosing people he loved. Ahh, the feels. Make it stop.

I understand that it’s not hard to fall in love with Celaena, but Chaol falling for her was a bit insta too in my opinion. But when first reading Throne of Glass, I became team Chaol. As I said, I adore both Dorian and Chaol, but there was just something in Chaol that I took his side. Maybe it was his quietness, or maybe his deep caring for her. It was way before the part, where he encouraged her to get up while fighting Cain, when I jumped on that ship, but that scene is still one of my favourites of the two.

Nehemia is a character that I don’t really like, even though I’ve read all Throne of Glass books and know how her part to the story. More of that in the Crown of Midnight review. I don’t really hate her, I just simply don’t like her. I know Celaena needs a female friend, but this friendship wasn’t healthy. It did make me a bit angry when Celaena told her everything, and Nehemia kept her mouth shut about herself. Yeah, yeah, there was a reason behind that, but as I first read Throne of Glass I didn’t knew that, and just couldn’t stand her not telling Celaena her side of the story.

Throne of Glass is a very fun book to read. It’s fast-paced  – the pages seemed to fly by. I absolutely adore fight scenes and I felt like I was really a part of them. Plot is a bit predicted, even though I started to question myself when Celaena begun to suspect Nehemia for the deaths Cain caused. There’s little explanation for the magic, but I’m happy with what I got – there’s time to explain it in the next books. There also aren’t any political issues, which I’m fine with, but it’d make a more interesting story if we got to know more about the rebels and such stuff.

Favourite quote, because why not make this review even longer than it already is:

Elena took a step toward her. ”You could rattle the stars,” she whispered. ”You could do anything, if you only dared. And deep down, you know it too. That’s what scares you most.”

Until next review,

podpis2

20 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. bookdragon1017 says:

    Great review! I felt the same way about Throne of Glass, since it was still the first book of the series I was interested but not too much but as I continued through the series I realised that I fell in love with every single character and that I got to learn more about them and see them suffer and I feel so much closer than I was in the first book. I’m about to reread the series until the 5th book comes out next month!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bookdragon1017 says:

    Hahaha yeah the King IS creepy and annoying! I feel like Celaena is one of my closest friends and I’m terrified literally worried sick about what might happen in Empire of Storms(which will probably end with me screaming and wailing and demanding to murder Sarah). Regardless to all that I’m so so looking forward to it! Hope we don’t suffer TOO much at the hands of our favourite characters 😁.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

