BOOK REVIEW: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

heir-of-fireCelaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak-but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life-and her future-forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

 

 

 

 

WARNING: contains spoilers

Even though she accepts her name, I’ll call her Celaena and not Aelin in this review because the majority of the book she didn’t even want to hear that name. But that will change in the next reviews. Just to clear that out.

I absolutely love Heir of Fire. This series gets better and better with every book. The book’s slower in my opinion, but it doesn’t drag no matter its size. There are many points of view to read from and since every character has their own problems and adventures, it never gets boring. So I really don’t understand why people think of Heir of Fire as a boring book. Maybe I’m just too obsessed with everything and just simply devour the book with a smile on my face (just like Celaena devours her chocolate).

Avatar, is that you? Nope, just Celaena and her awesome fire magic. I love her more and more with every book in the series. We’ve seen her going through rough times already, but unlike in Crown of Midnight, she deals with her pain and loss and fears and decides that she’s going to fight for her people in Heir of Fire. And again, I can’t get over how badass she is. Fighting Narrok and the Valg princes was pure awesomeness. Well, until she became weak, that is. And all of those flashbacks… Make the pain stop, please. Now we get to understand why she was so devastated about Nehemia’s death – Lady Marion’s sacrifice is a very emotional scene. Give me a second, I need to pick up all the pieces of my heart that’s just shattered. There’s a pattern in every book and that is training, but the training she gets in Heir of Fire is the best of them all. I mean, shape-shifting? Fire swords and shields? Trying not to burn within? Bring it on. Okay, not so much for the burning within part, that poop’s scary. Also, her first interaction with Dorian was something it made me laugh out loud. ‘You eat like a fine lady.

Rowan freaking Whitethorn. The new (hot) addition to the squad. I’ll admit, a big part of why I didn’t hate him at the beginning where he was an actual prick is because of Tumblr (shameless self promotion). I saw some posts about him  and I immediately decided to pick Throne of Glass books up and was so excited for him to finally show up, because Rowan’s basically the reason I got myself in this crazy adventure after all. And after what felt like centuries (it literally took me less than a week to read ToG & CoM, but still, dramatic effects are cool) I finally got to meet him. I was/am not disappointed. Yes, he’s not the kindest man out there and sometimes he’s really a pain in the butt and I wanted to slap the hell out of him and there’s so many walls you have to break to get to know him, but I still fell for him and there’s no coming back from that. Him opening up to Celaena about Lyria and her telling him about Nehemia and realising how similar their pain is was one of those parts of the book where my heart just broke a little. I think if I were to not read those post on Tumblr and be so excited about him my opinion of him wouldn’t be that different. Maybe I wouldn’t be the #1 fan at first, but me knowing me I know I’d still get on his side at the end. And what is it with SJM’s books and tattooed guys? Me likey. Rowan’s fae bae.

I adore Sarah for showing us that sometimes friendship is more important than an actual romantic relationship. Though I wouldn’t mind if there’d be something more, I’m all up for just their friendship. Pff, Rowan denying they’re friends –  you liar! Shut your (perfect;)) mouth, hug the girl (that’s not a Rowan thing to do but let’s be real, Rowan isn’t very good with compliments) and be the best of her bestest friends. Their relationship developed beautifully. From hating each other and always arguing to Rowan carrying  Celaena even though she burnt him and becoming carranam. This carranam thing between them was predictable, but I don’t mind it, not one bit. I love that that didn’t change them – they went right back to arguing. So excited for them reuniting! They’re the start of Aelin’s court and that makes me so happy.

I felt so bad for Dorian. With Celaena gone and still not talking to Chaol, he was left alone in this new discovery of his magic. Thank you Sarah for creating Aedion and him pushing Dorian into a rosebush so he had to get his hands checked by a healer. And so I felt bad no more as Sorcha came in to the picture. And awh, Sorcha was already in love with him before they even properly met, how cute (probably the only time I approve of that). Their relationship was in fact very cute, with her helping Dorian with his magic, and was somewhat refreshing reading their scenes together. With all the chaos around every character a refreshment felt nice. But of course, Dorian, who really deserves the best, didn’t get a chance of extending that little happiness he had with Sorcha when she died. Stop the pain, please. So we go back to feeling bad for him. But not for long. Because once the King ordered to put that bloody collar around Dorian’s neck I started to feel scared for him. Terrified. Does that mean he’s enemy with Celaena/Aelin now? Can he be saved? If not, does that mean he has to be killed? So many questions, so much fear.

Aedion is definitely Celaena’s cousin. They’re basically the same – they’re pretending they’re someone so cruel and evil and have a bad reputation and all that poop, but in reality they’re literally golden. Truth to be told the thought of Aelin’s own cousin, her dear friend and ally teaming up with the king and betraying his own people by slaughtering them did scare me for a second. Damn, those family genes for acting are excellent. I guess not obeying the King runs in the family too – finally some rebels I didn’t pull my hair out because of them and because of how dumb they are (*cough* Archer *cough*).  Also, 13-year-old Aedion is the cutest thing ever.

Chaol isn’t particularly fond of Dorian’s magic but as good friend he is (even though I don’t know what to call his relationship with Dorian at the moment) of course he still cares for him deeply and is yet again trying to find a way to make Dorian safe. Just like he did for Celaena. Poor baby, he’s trying so hard and it never works out no matter how much he tries. It kills me to think about him and Celaena. They were so happy… It really warms my heart at the thought of him not forgetting Fleetfoot and taking her with him. Aww.

The ironteeth witches. Oh. My. God. YAAAS. (I don’t write these reviews by order and this is the first topic I’m coming to and that says a lot since Rowan Whitethorn is the center of everything lol) I had issues with these War Games – they’re pointless and stupid and I was like ‘????‘ when it was revealed what the actual fluff they are. Boring games, yet again, as if archery and climbing aren’t boring enough. They’re the most badass creatures and they get to express that by stealing eggs. Really? Still no fighting till death? And with the name that epic I really had high expectations. Ugh. Also, magic is banished but witches aren’t? I swear, the king is mad. But if I put that aside I absolutely love the witches. They’re so cruel and wicked and hellooo, iron teeth and nails and extra lids? Hell to the yes! The awesomeness of the Thirteen makes up for the stupidity of the Games.

”Welcome, Wing Leader,” her grandmother said, and a cry went up from the witches, save for the Thirteen – who stayed cool and quiet. They did not need to cheer, for they were immortal and infinte and gloriously, wonderfully deadly.

tumblr_nbfu02nyHU1qiu7yxo2_250

too cute not to post as Abraxos

It took time to settle into their chapters but once that was done I was more and more eager to get to them. Imagine them teaming up with Aelin – now that is something I’d really love to see. I had to google what wyverns really are and immediately I picture them all as Toothles from How To Train Your Dragon (I even prepared myself before rereading this book with watching the film. :’)). We got a new pet, yaaay – Abraxos is cute lill munchkin with an obsession with flowers (how cuteeee). His relationship with Manon warms my heart. Yes, she’s vicious and deadly and cruel, but she has a soft spot for Abraxos. And she’s not the only one – my heart aches because of what happened to Petrah’s wyvern, Keelie, and how that happened. I’ve said that the no-killing rule makes me kind of angry, but this is not what I meant. That was just painful to read about

I think we don’t talk enough about what happened in the Royal Theater.

And when the conductor raised his arms, it was not a symphony that filled the cavernous place.

It was the Song of Eyllwe.

Then the Song of Fenharrow. And Melisande. And Terrasen. Each nation that had people in those labor camps.

And finally, not for pomp or triumph, but to mourn what they had become, they played the Song of Adarlan.

The musicians did that, even though they knew they’ll get killed for it. They knew and still played for all those people. Such a powerful scene and probably my favourite too.

I’m trying to be quick with these reviews and making them shorter so I can move on and read the next books (if I review the previous book while reading the next I mess up everything and forget 3/4 of the things I wanted to write at first), but this isn’t working. :’) +this is the worst review so far, I’m sorry.

4.75/5

podpis2

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

