BOOK REVIEW: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany

Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_CoverPublished: 2016

Genre: fantasy, drama, adventure

Personal rating: 3/5

WARNING: this review contains spoilers!

As a Potterhead through and through, it seemed only right for me to read the new, oh-so-famous eight book of the HP series. Well, it is actually a script, based on J.K.’s original series and written by John Tiffany and Jack Thorne. And I’m sad to say I’m just slightly disappointed about it.

The story is set 19 years after Battle Of Hogwarts when Albus Severus, Harry’s middle child, enters the world of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry for the first time. His initial fear of being placed into Slytherin actually comes true and so he becomes the laughing stock of the whole school.  He soon realises he’s nothing like his father (since he can’t even get the broom to get up) which makes him an angry, self-proclaimed ”disappointing son” whose relationship with Harry is pretty much similar to none. His only friend is – who other than – Scorpius Malfoy, son of Draco, who has loads of problems of his own, since the whole school thinks he’s actually Voldemort’s son.

The story then fast-forwards to four years later, when Albus overhears a conversation from Harry and Amos Diggory, father of the late Cedric Diggory, who died during the Triwizard Tournament in the fourth book. Amos mourns his son deeply even after all these years and wants Harry to use the Time-Turner to bring Cedric back. (Oh, yeah, a Time-Turner is found at some guys’ house, no biggie.) After Albus finds out that Harry lied to Amos about not having the Time-Turner, he decides he’s gonna stole it from the Ministry – where it’s hidden – himself (with help from his loyal old friend, Scorpius, and a new friend, Delphi, who is Amos’s niece ) and rescue Cedric himself. Well, of course it all goes downhill from there.

Okay, first of all, WHAT?! And second of all, OKAY? I loved certain parts of the book, like the twist about Albus getting into Slytherin (though I can’t say it didn’t shock me a bit) and how it affected Harry’s and Albus’s relationship (it wasn’t all soppy, thank God) or the whole ‘Time-Turners are back’ thing and all, but my oh my, the thing that shocked me most of all was Delphi being an actual Voldemort’s daughter. Like, he had A DAUGHTER. WHO WAS CONCIEVED RIGHT BEFORE THE BATTLE OF HOGWARTS. WITH FREAKING BELLATRIX. Are you effing KIDDING ME? Major WOW WTF HOW moment there for me.

tumblr_n6sqfyrr981t7m4g3o1_500

But I loved how effed up everything became after this was revealed and how the story goes from there on. Which is basically to bring Voldy back, what else is new. Also loved loved loved the blanket message bit. I would never be smart enough to thought of that, so, good work Albus & Scorpius. Aaand, I absolutely loved the scene from Harry’s home, the night his parents died. It kinda broke me, too, seeing Harry like this. I can’t even imagine what it felt like for him, literally watching his parents die and not being able to do anything at all. Anyway, good scene, y’all.

tumblr_inline_mfjxh3msux1qjq4cp

What I didn’t like? There were too many emotional, soppy scenes for my taste. Like, why is everybody crying and pouring their hearts out to everybody? Like Draco to Harry, really? I would never think Draco would say that to anybody when I was reading other HP books. Never.

I also don’t understand why Albus chose Cedric. Yeah, he was a spare, he died because he was at the wrong place at the wrong time, but so did many people because of Voldy. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I loved Cedric so much in the fourth book and bawled like a baby when he died, but if I was Albus, I would go and save someone else (selfish much?). Like Fred. *iamliterallycryingjustthinkingabouthim* Because Fred was kind of a  family. Dear God, I miss Fred… It’s also interesting how he’s never mentioned in the book. Like, no one even thinks about him when Time Turners show up (I imagine George would go mental if he found out). Oh, I don’t know, maybe it’s just me and my over-attachment to him. All in all, if I had one person to save, it would be Fred. Or Snape. Because, obviously …

The last thing that bothered me was the ending. It was too fast, like they wanted to end the book as soon as possible and just wrote something blah. I just didn’t feel it. Meh, too bad.

Surprisingly, it didn’t bother me that it was written as a script. If I’m in the mood, I often skip other nonsense and just read peoples’ lines in other books, too, because I just wanna know what’s gonna happen next. However, there were many downs about it, so sadly I give it a 3 out of 5.

  • TO SUM UP

tumblr_mgfineibjx1qdksdzo1_250

  • FAVOURITE QUOTE

”Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.”

’till next time,

podpis

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany

Leave a Reply

