BOOK REVIEW: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

12578077.jpgSeries: Lux #1

Genre: Paranormal Romance, YA, Sci-Fi

Length: I read it as epub, but Goodreads says 335

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Publication Date: November 2011

Personal Rating: 2/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Noup

(how you likin my organization, huh?)

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

I was bored and lazy and I have hopes to finish school with a weak B so of course I needed to kill my time with a book I had low expectations for in the first place. I just needed a book that is not full of pain (A Court of Wings and Ruin ( yeah, yeah, it gets published in May but really, does any of us really expect to finish this series with a whole heart?)), is fun (not Empire of Storms fun), has no heart wrecking relationships (basically any SJM’s couples) and is totally Sarah J. Maas proof. (Did you notice the obsession?) Obsidian? Perfect!

Although with the quick pace and fun I had, I feel like I’m one of those rare people who doesn’t actually looove this book. Yay, hot alien with some killer abs and a feisty book blogger, boo-hoo. That’s the thing, it felt like everything is just about them. I’m in phase where I want a billion plot twists in a book (thanks Empire of Storms (I’m sorry, I’ll stop)). We get just one chapter of an actual action, the Arum ‘fighting’ scene, and even that was predictable and, well, not exciting. Bro, I’m tired of Katy and Daemon and their whole I-hate-you-but-I-kinda-dig-you thing – which did not work for me, to be honest – so gimmie something more. Also, the description of the book itself ruined it for me – yeah, yeah, it is paranormal so we could try to figure out what Daemon really is, but still, don’t spoil me.

Okay, I think I’m the only person on this planet that does not like the main character to be absolutely in love with books to the point they have a blog for them. It’s the same as female friendships, I don’t get why I don’t like it, it just is as it is. I will also never understand how you can write so many posts in one week as Katy does – bowing to all the people who are actually the same. I’m lazy, what can you do about it? Anyways, Katy was okay, I guess. I did find her annoying at times, but other than that it was fun being in her head. Also, SO not fair she gets so many books in such a short time!

‘I love a challenge’ *shivers* *but not a good kind of shivers* Can you, like, I don’t know, make up your damn mind, Daemon? I mean, I get it, it’s called development, but me still don’t likey. Daemon and Katy’s ‘moments’ have never felt true to me so when he all of a sudden decides he’ll ‘fight’ for her I just kinda threw up in my mouth. And, ohhh, of course that had to be one of the last lines, gee, what a cliffhanger. Yas Katy for shutting his annoying mouth, you go girl – these moments were the funnest parts of the book. I’m sorry for all of you out there that are totally obsessed with this dude, but he and I aren’t on the same page. Also, we did not need those bonus chapters from Daemon’s point of view.

Why does the ex-girlfriend always has to be a biatch? Ash is indeed that but I’ve just seen it so many times I didn’t care about her at all. Nor did I care about her siblings, whatever they’re called. They were just … there.

Dee on the other side I really liked. I didn’t trust her for half of a book to be honest, I dunno, just their first meeting kinda did that for me – Dee stalked her? Sheesh, worse than our precious Edward-Cullen-wannabe Daemon. Other times I did actually enjoyed her scenes and she was a fun addition to the story.

Surprise, surprise, 2 stars. It was enjoyable enough, even though it does not seem like it, I’m just having one of those special-sarcasm-nuša-days. I’m actually about half way through Onyx, the second book in the series because I’m curious if this is another Throne of Glass thing where the first book is just poop and all other books in the series are just perfection. (Spoiler: there’s gonna be another SSND + review day combination pretty soon)

To sum it up:

bv.gif

Until next time,

podpis2

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

