BOOK REVIEW: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

the-dream-thievesSeries: The Raven Cycle #2

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Magic, YA

Length: 450 pages

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Publication Date: September 5th 2013

Personal Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne, kar je ful škoda, ker so te knjige fenomenalne.

 

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

My Goodreads Non-Spoilery Updates (they’re mostly just my fave quotes, but still)

Untitled-4.png

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

Maggie freaking Stiefvater is a goddess. Will admit, I’m not a fan of Shiver, which I dnfed because it was just that weird, but when it comes to The Raven Cycle – dude, this series is everything so far. I will not be surprised if it ends as one of my fave.  Yeah, it’s weird but it’s way better at being weird than Shiver. Stiefvater’s  writing is just so magical and rich and dreamy and just so gripping and although I sometimes had to reread certain parts to really understand what was going on, her well-written characters make up for it all.

I’m not sure if  I’ll ever write a The Raven Boys book review, not sure if I have such productivty in me so I don’t know if I should write a whole novel about my feelings with the characters as I always do in reviews of the first books in the series (this sounds like I’ve written so many book reviews before, pfff). Then again, I’m too lazy, so all you need to know is that I FREAKING LOVE EVERYBODY. Yep, this is one of those series again where I repeatedly say I love/adore them (because I have a great vocabulary) because they’re just that awesome/badass/smart/broken (again, such wonderful vocabulary). They’re all different and they each have their own flaws but you still can’t help yourself falling in love with all of them, each differently but all equally.

In that moment, Blue was a little in love with all of them.
Their magic. Their quest. Their awfulness and strangeness.
Her raven boys.

And even better, the relationships between the characters are everything. Just look at Gansey and Ronan. BROTP #1.

”While I’m gone,” Gansey said, pausing, “dream me the world. Something new for every night.”

Also, Stiefvater’obsession with cars is kinda cute. I totally did not google the cars afterwards. I totally did not fell in love with 1973 Camaro. I totally did not make plans of someday buying that car.

It was going a bit slow for me at the begining but I still enjoyed every second of reading this perfection. The amount of magic was just fine – it gave it the dreamy effect I was talking about earlier. It’s not so much focused on Glendower as it was in The Raven Boys and is replaced with character’s development and the book is literally that – exploring the characters and their feelings & thoughts and relationships with others. Which I’m totally fine with. I think I like The Dream Thieves a bit more than The Raven Boys, and I absolutely loved The Raven Boys (see, the vocabulary is on point). And of course that’s because of Ronan and his development.

Ronan Niall Lynch is my spirit animal. I always say I love Blue, Gansey, Noah, Adam and Ronan all equally, but I think Ronan is secretly my fave out of all. He’s just a sassy lil cinnamon roll who actually gets away with cussing. To learn of his childhood, to see his demons was an interesting experiance.  The stealing/taking from the dream parts are definitely my favoruite moments from the book. Also, Chainsaw.

Ronan Lynch lived with every sort of secret.

DSC_0008.png

Sherlock is always the victim in photoshoots

I CAN’T. I SHIP RONAN AND ADAM SO HARD. The hardness of the shipping is at the same level as Rowaelin and that says a lot. I’ve read that sentence so many times by now. I don’t know if it’s just that I was so sleepy or hungry or both, but I actually almost shed a tear because I was so happy for this moment. Oh, it’s also that time of the month so getting emotional is forgivable. They need each other and I need them to need each other.

Ronan’s second secret was Adam Parrish.

I’m not sure about the love triangle that’s not really a love triangle. It didn’t bother me in The Raven Boys because there literally was no triangle yet but it kinda does in The Dream Thieves. I’ve made my decision with who to ship with who at the begining of it all and the new information we got from Ronan’s side made me not feel so bad about myself anymore. And that’s the thing with this triangle, it did not made me want to hate the other, it just made me sad. It did feel wrong, Adam, who is not at his best already, did not deserve how Blue was ‘playing’ with him and I was still on Gansey’s side. Then again, Adam was not good to her too. As she said, she is not a thing to have. But still, everytime a Gansey + Blue moment happened I thought about Adam and how I pity him. Adam hates pity. Which made me sadder.

I’m always in worries about Adam. Gansey is always in worries about Adam and Ronan. I’m always in worries about Gansey’s worries and Gansey himself. So many worries. Adam is damaged and I can’t stand it and either does Gansey. They both deserve better. Gansey deserves better from Adam. How much this boy care about his friends … Gansey is best friend goals, let’s just leave it at that.

Adam just needs a big bear Nuša hug and a big cup of hot chocolate.

What do you want, Adam?
To feel awake when my eyes are open.

I like The Dream Thieves didn’t focus much on Blue’s prophecy but I didn’t however like that Blue wasn’t such a big part of the book. Same for Noah. I mean, Ronan is EVERYTHING, but it felt like it was missing something. Also, why do the boys use the words feminist as an insult when she totally just burned them with her feminist opinion? Rude. And I need more of my cutiepie Noah!

That whole ‘is it weird that I ship it’ thing in my updates was meant for Noah and Blue. I mean, I absolutely adore their relationship as friends – he always patts her head, how cute is that – but I also absolutely adore the moment they kissed. I know it meant nothing and I’m totally okay if that’s the case, but still, how cute would that be. I did actually think about the possibility of Blue kissing Noah before because, well, he’s already dead, but I never expected to actually happen. Was not disappointed and I loved every second of it.

They were no longer Noah Czerny and Blue Sargent. They were now just him and her. Not even that. They were only the time that they held between them.

Is it wrong that I kinda liked Kavinsky? Because I did, couldn’t help myself. His bad jokes just did that for me. Still can’t get over ‘Dickie’.  (Question: how do you get Dick from Richard (ugh, that sounds wrong)? I’ve always wondered that).

Dying’s a boring side effect.

I’m not sure how I feel about Mr Gray. It just felt he became a ‘hero’ too fast. And I didn’t understand how all of a sudden he could shot his brother, now that he’s all goody-goody, but he couldn’t when he was still killing people for money. I’m really interested what becomes of his part in the story tho.

To sum it up:

rgf

Love,

podpis2

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

