SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness + MERRY LATE CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR! :D

61vTxJTnOsL._SX371_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Series: Standalone

Genre: Fantasy, Contemporary, YA

Length: 237 pages (Tie-In edition)

Publisher: Walker Books

Publication Date: September 27th 2011

Personal Rating: 5/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Jp; Sedem minut čez polnoč

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

At seven minutes past midnight, thirteen-year-old Conor wakes to find a monster outside his bedroom window. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting– he’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments. The monster in his backyard is different. It’s ancient. And wild. And it wants something from Conor. Something terrible and dangerous. It wants the truth.

Spoiler-Free Review by Yours Truly

The monster showed up just after midnight. As they do.

I always find something that makes me never give a book full 5 stars. When a book gets a 4.9 rating from me, the reason is most probably that when I picked the book up my brain liked to decide to put it down after reading a half of it, for no reason, and I moved on onto the next one and then finally picked the first one after 2 months.  Entirely my fault. Or if I don’t like just one person that’s supposed to be very much likeable amongst others readers (because yay, unpopular opinions are fun) or there’s just one moment that I wasn’t particularly fond of, I will still not give it 5 stars.  [update 01/04/17: I changed all of my 4.9 ratings to full 5 stars because I’m tired of being annoying]

A Monster Calls is an outsider.

I read it in 2 sittings, no hateworthy characters that were there for the sole purpose of being just the opposite, loved every moment of it. Hellooo, one of the biggest SJM’s fans and even her books didn’t get a whole 5 stars rating from me, what does that tell you? I tend to rate a book too quickly after finishing it and like to change my mind about it after a few days. It’s been 4 days since I’ve read A Monster Calls. The rating still stands.

‘Stories are wild creatures,’ the monster said. ‘When you let them loose, who knows what havoc they might wreak?’

amcI knew what I was getting myself into. I expected this one was going to stick with me for a while. Oh how right I was. All the hype about the book and the author himself – it’s worth it. Beautiful story, beautiful writing. I’ve never read anything by Ness but after reading A Monster Calls I’m secretly stealing glances at my More Than This copy on my shelf that’s waiting to be read even though I know I have yet to finish my Dec TBR (or at least try to, let’s be honest).

I also suspected what was coming. Suspected, and although Christmas time is really not the time to read about these kinds of things and I myself was not in the mood for it really, the story was just so gripping I kept on going. It’s a sad and dark story, for sure, but the book approaches pain and grief but also love between characters so beautifully. It was an emotional read but I did not cry, can I get a high-five? (I’m surprised aswell tbh)

All that topped with fantasy which is woven into the story fantastically. My kind of stuff.

‘Stories don’t always have happy endings.’

This stopped him. Because they didn’t, did they? That’s one thing the monster had definitely taught him. Stories were wild, wild animals and went off in directions you couldn’t expect.

I’ve got the movie edition copy so I can’t say much about the illustrations, but from what I’ve seen on bookstagram they’re stunning, so that’s a bonus point.

(Speaking of the movie – saw the trailer, absolutely loved it, read it isn’t coming to Slovenia. Are you fluffing kidding me?!)

To sum it up:

10037780.gif

Happy Holidays,

podpis2

9 thoughts on “SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness + MERRY LATE CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR! :D

Leave a Reply

