BOOK REVIEW: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater


the-raven-kingSeries:
 The Raven Cycle #4

Genre: Fantasy, YA

Length: 439 pages

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Publication Date: April 26th 2016

Personal Rating: 4.75/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Noup

 

 

 

Synopsis

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into his mission: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a life; Blue, who loves Gansey … and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Nothing dead is to be trusted.

Now the endgame has begun.

Nothing living is safe.

Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

Make way for the Raven King

You know those moments where it’s so easy peasy lemon squeezy to predict things in books? Sometimes you get angry with the book for being so predictable and sometimes you don’t, and continue on with reading. Sometimes your mind is just straight up blank. You just can’t find any explanation of what and how and why this is all going on. And sometimes you let yourself not think about it at all.

Combine all these things and you come up with me while not even trying/trying hard/refusing to try to predict what is going to happen with my lil baby Gansey.  Whilst I did actually prepare myself because I expected crying involved and brought myself a roll of toilet paper, there was also this little voice in my head saying he’s not gonna die, or at least he’s gonna come back. And then there were my hands which did not want to cooperate in picking up the rolling paper because they just did not want to accept any possibilities and suggestions that were gathering in my mind and they just wanted to go with the flow.

And then Gansey died. (for the second time)

I needed that roll of toilet paper. (it was actually Ronan’s crying that got to me)

And then he woke up. (for the second time)

I needed that roll of toilet paper once again. (happy tears are the worst to control)

That’s the thing. The whole cast of characters. You watched each and everyone’s  development throughout the series, you experienced their happiness and sadness and bunch of other emotions, you were disappointed with them, you were proud at them. You felt like they were your friends. And to feel that while reading a book is a pretty awesome feeling to feel. So when this happened to Gansey (or any other poop that’s happened to any other character) made me experience a thousand emotions because it felt like actually loosing a friend. This is where the reaction’s come from.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

There are 8 cats in this lil basket. Eight! :3

Ronan Lynch dreamed Cabeswater. That mothefluffer. Just one more reason why I luuuv him so much. *heart eyes* I felt like there was no Ronan in Blue Lily, Lily Blue so having him back was the highlight of the series. I’m there for cute Ronan moments so when there were scenes of him and Matthew I just kind of melted from the amount of it. I can’t even imagine what would Ronan do if Matthew was unmade. He was hurt enough because of his mother, just let him be happy okay. Also, he wants to be farmer: you go, girl. #farmers4life

I’m such a Pynch trash. RONAN KISSED ADAM FIRST, I’M SO PROUD OF MY BABY. ADAM KISSED HIM BACK. PROUD MOMMA. Can you sense how excited I am? CUZ I AM. GIMMIE ALL THE FANRAT NOW (sorry my dear classmates for your questionable looks when I literally squealed like a little girl while I was reading literally any Pynch part of the book (but also not sorry))

Adam smiled cheerily. Ronan would start wars and burn cities for that true smile, elastic and amiable.

BLUESEY. Aka the reason of my death. There has never been a time ‘awwwwwwwwwwww’s came out of my mouth so many times while reading a book. Never. I’m not even ashamed. I’ve waited for the kiss for four freaking books and well I WANT DETAILS. Stiefvater, you can’t torture me like thissssss. Also, I’m imagining them traveling the world together right now and it’s giving me all the feels. Where are the novellas?? GIMMIE. Okay, but this is my favourite Bluesey part:

As they watched it together, Gansey opened up his overcoat and tucked Blue inside it with him. This, too, was a weird and specific magic, the ease of it, the warmth of him around her, his heartbeat thumping against her back.

I also suddenly very much like trees. Not that I didn’t love them before, I just upgraded my likeness for them.

I truthfully don’t get this new addition aka Henry but I don’t mind him, really. I mean, he did host a party where my Bluesey feels went crazy. I didn’t trust him for a long time, truth to be told, but I liked his humor a lot.

I tried to read The Raven King as slow as possible because I just didn’t want it to end. But then again I craved for the moment I finish it and could finally go on Tumblr and read all the spoilery things I fought so hard to avoid. There were mixed feelings after finishing this book though. I was satisfied as well as dissatisfied. This whole series was about finding Glendower, but there’s no Glandower to find, not a living one at least. Gansey reaction to this kinda broke me. All this poop, all these high expectations, and then nothing? And this whole thing afterwards just went so quickly I couldn’t even grasp the thought that there really wasn’t any favour to grant. And what happened to my Noah??? What of Mr Gray??? (whom I’ve been absolutely adoring since Blue Lily, Lily Blue (did try to write a review of that book but I was just too lazy and wanted to read TRK as soon as possible)). I JUST WANT MOOOOOOOORE OKAY

And just because I can: here, have a Ronan and Blue moment because they’re friendship goals, k, bye:

‘To think you could have been dreaming the cure for cancer,’ Blue said.

‘Look, Sargent,’ Ronan retorted, ‘I was gonna dream you some eye cream last night since clearly modern medicine’s doing jack shit for you, but I nearly had my ass handed to me by a death snake from the fourth circle of dream hell, so you’re welcome.’

Blue was appropriately touched. ‘Ah, thanks, man.’

‘No problem, bro.’

To sum up:

tumblr_inline_neutzsRa6D1rulfl2.gif

Peace out,

podpis2

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

