BOOK REVIEW: Cress by Marissa Meyer

cress.jpg

Series: The Lunar Chronicles #3

Genre: Science Fiction, YA

Length: 550 pages

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Publication Date: February 4th 2014

Personal Rating: 4/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Nep

 

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

Okay, lets face it, I don’t like the romance in Meyer’s books. I’m cool with the friendships, which is surprising since I don’t like female friendships, not as much as bromances, but actual romantic relationships? Na-a, no thank you. Which is a shame considering how much love is involved in this (otherwise awesome) story and that Tangled is my 2nd favoruite Disney movie (right after The Lion King hehe). It was a ‘meh’ situation when it came to Cinder and Kai, I pretty much disliked Wolf and Scarlet’s ‘bond’ and we’re back to ‘meh’ with Cress and Thorne. What happened between Wolf and Scarlet is actually the biggest reason why it took me so long to get to Cress. It felt so instalove-y and I actually wrote a rant about it. Ah, yes, the very beginning of my rants, good times, good times. But since Thorne was the highlight of my pathetic life at the time and I knew he was the love interest in Cress which means a lot of scenes involving him, I decided to continue on with the series. And I also kinda hoped that I’d like this relationship better just because he’s a part of it.

Um, I kind of did but I kind of didn’t…? Let’s look at the pros:

  • It indeed did help that Thorne was one of the two in the relationship because, well, I love him,
  • I liked them way better than Scarlet and Wolf &
  • I’m actually happy Thorne thought he’s not good enough for Cress and didn’t immediately jump in this whole thing.

But there’s a but: so much happened in this book (which I loved, don’t get me wrong) so I sometimes forgot that this whole thing happened in the extent of 2-3 weeks. When I actually remembered, I. Just. Couldn’t. Stop. Thinking. About. It. Instalove? Not my thing. I get it; he almost died, she saved him, she almost died, he saved her and so on and that reason alone should prevent my brain from calling it instalove. That should prevent it because it’s so obvious saving each other’s asses is a perfect reason to fall in love even though they’ve known each other for such a short time. Right? Wrong.

What can I say, I’m an interesting child.

There’s what, 6 leading characters now? 6 POVs? Yaaas. I like many point of views and why you may ask; because that gives me characters who I can love and characters who I can hate. You gotta keep the balance, you know. So; I have mixed feelings with Cress. She was badass when it came to hacking and stalking (high-five, gurl), but when it came to real life, she sometimes just kind of annoyed me and sometimes she didn’t. She was socially awkward and girl, I’ve got ya, but it’s uncomfortable reading basically about yourself (where u at, my social anxiety peeps?). But I absolutely loved her dramatic opera karaoke. We’ve already talked about my love towards Thorne. Scarlet is yet another one I didn’t quite like. The balance, remember. But her scenes on Luna did remind me of Dorian in Queen of Shadows and boy oh boy, I do NOT want to remember that. Wolf  was just miserable throughout the whole book and dude, I feel you. So he was alright, I guess. Iko is my spirit animal. Kai was still a confused cinnamon roll, Nuša still likey. And Cinder was so underrated, gosh. This girl is becoming one of my favorite in the series and she’s just got so much going on and still they find the time to blame her. Can you please not.

”See? Injustice. Here we are, risking our lives to rescue Kai and this whole planet, and Adri and Pearl get to go to the royal wedding. I’m disgusted. I hope they spill soy sauce on their fancy dresses.”

Jacin’s concern turned fast to annoyance. ”Your ship has some messed-up priorities, you know that?”

”Iko. My name is Iko. If you don’t stop calling me the ‘ship,’ I am going to make sure you never have hot water during your showers again, do you understand me?”

”Yeah, hold that thought while I go disable the speaker system.”

”What? You can’t mute me. Cinder!”

Remember how I wrote Cinder and Kai’s relationship was a ‘meh’ for me in Cinder? Well, it was an ‘aww’ for 3 pages in Cress until it went back to ‘meh’. I’m such a complicated human being, I’m so sorry. It happened at the last chapters when Cinder explained everything to Kai and when they agreed there should be no secrets between them and yada yada yada. I rooted for them in that moment and I still think they’re my favorite of the three. But this whole he-kinda-doesn’t-trust-her-but-he-kinda-does thing confused me. A lot. She got the news about the attacks in Africa (which she said herself she was expecting, why was she so surprised then?) and Kai suddenly forgot their fight mere minutes ago, him blaming her how she made the whole situation with Levana worse, and he’s reassuring her she’s nothing like Levana. *quit playing games with my heart plays in the background* And I thought I had extreme mood swings.

On the other side I’M FREAKING EXCITED FOR JACIN AND WINTER. Have you seen that boy? His coldness? Have you listened to that girl? Her craziness? Perfect match. Nuša likey, Nuša likey a lot. And since they know each other maybe it won’t feel instalove-y like it did in every other book in TLC. We’ll see. But Winter’s like, what, 850 pages long? I have commitment issues. But on the other hand; Jacin!!! Agh, this world is so cruel to me. (saying this while Trump’s rule)

They started a war. I’m suggesting we end it.

Love has an important touch to this series, yes, but the plot is so freaking awesome. I’m not the biggest fan of sci-fi but I’m loving TLC so far. I liked Cinder working with her powers way more than I did in Scarlet – the creepier, the better. I also liked that the characters were all seperated and the jumps between the points of view didn’t confuse me. Now those 850 pages of Winter seem kind of welcoming since I had no problems getting through these 550 pages in Cress – there’s just so much going on that you’re never really bored.

To sum up (this is describing me so well while reading Cress, I’m literally both Rapunzel and Eugene):

tangled-gif-1161-1238-hd-wallpapers.jpg

x,

podpis2

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Cress by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

