SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

71F0lnwGs8L.jpg

Series: Covenant #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA

Length: 281 pages

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

Publication Date: October 18th 2011

Personal Rating: 1/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

 

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.

Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is.

If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

Non-Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

DNF at 69%

Here’s the thing with me and 1 star – it rarely happens. Sure, I can hate a book to the core but I can’t just give such a low rating for something the author probably worked hard on even if she/he did a bad job at it. Or at least that’s what I’m telling myself because I’m actually a very positive person even if I’m best at writing rants.

But that’s it: how can I give a higher rating for Half-Blood? People did those ‘if you like this, you’ll like this’ posts and one of their recommendations was Half-Blood, compared with Vampire Academy. VA is one of my all time favorite series and I didn’t have the highest expectations ever to begin with but I hoped I’d enjoy Half-Blood anyways because I was just in a mood for a book that’s set in a boarding school (I have these weird phases, deal with it (I actually HATE boarding schools: I have to spend at least 2 weeks in a year at my school’s dormitory because of my school program and let me just say, it’s really hard to spend 10+ days with people you don’t really like all while being socially awkward)).

I can’t successfully defend it by saying it’s inspired by Vampire Academy. I could say it’s fan fiction of some sort but I can’t compare it to VA because it’s literally Vampire Academy. That’s why I didn’t give this book at least a 2 stars rating because it didn’t feel at all like the author worked hard on it. Same fluffing thing with different expressions for the world and changed names for the characters. Literally.

  • First of all: Alex/Alexandria, Rose/Rosemarie,
  • Alex was ‘on a run’ from the Convenant for 3 years. Sounds familiar?
  • Alex’s the best at fighting or whatever they do in trainings (I literally don’t get these trainings at all tbh) but she’s rusty when she comes back. But then, oh look, she’s learning fast and is improving more than anyone would ever expect her toand is the best yet again. Rose much?
  • Really? Elemental magic? I may have dreamed this but there’s 5th one mentioned, wow, how surprising is that,
  • The dude, Aiden, reads a big ass book while Alex is training. C’mon Jennifer, you could at least do better with that one. This pissed me so much,
  • There are pures – the important ones – and the halfs – who cares about them? Only in this case pure bloods don’t just sit around but they actually fight too – that’d make the situation a bit better if it didn’t feel like the author tried to hide the fact she plagiarised Vampire Academy with adding that,
  • [kinda spoilery?] Alex is destined to kill her loved ones; I’m too mad to read the book as a whole but I’m assuming this means she’ll kill her mom. Or won’t and will actually find a way to turn her back to human because why not make it even more Blood Promise-y? [ur good]
  • A certain paring (half-blood + half-blood, I believe) can’t have babies just like dhampirs are unable to produce children with one another. A smaller fact, you can call me Sherlock Holmes,
  • And something else that was important but I forgot because here’s just so many others similarities and because my memory is poop but you get what I’m trying to say, right?

I didn’t know Half-Blood was written by Armentrout until I looked the book up on Goodreads again. Okay, I think she and I are not meant to be. Although writing the Obsidian review was fun. ;D She tried so hard to write funny dialogues, I tried so hard not to cringe every time (I’m saying this and I’m the least funny person you’ll ever meet). Don’t even let me get started at how bad I was cringing at every Alex and Aiden scene. The only fresh addition to Vampire Academy — er … Half-Blood was Seth and even he didn’t make me want to continue on with the book.

I feel like I should write more but being angry with something makes me tired so I’m just going to torture Sherlock (zee cat) and make him stay in my bed to soothe me to sleep. As you can imagine, he loooves me. 😉

Also, I maybe should’ve mentioned I’m very moody these days. Oh well.

To sum up:

12841393

Peace out,

podpis2

 

2 thoughts on “SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

