BOOK REVIEW: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

510llmqr12l-_sx324_bo1204203200_Series: The Grisha #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA

Edition: Paperback

Length: 308 pages

Publisher: Indigo

Publication Date: July 31st 2014 (first published June 5th 2012)

Personal Rating: 3.75/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Noup

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite – the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

I so didn’t mean to read this. I have a test on Monday and what does Nuša do? Reads a whole book she wasnt even intending to read yet. ‘I’ll just read a couple of pages and then I’ll get to biology’. I’m often surprised at how highly I think of my abilities, truly am. I started it and I. Just. Couldn’t. Stop. Sure, when I don’t have anything to do for school I get hit with a reading slump, but I when I have 790368 subjects to study for I want to read all the books in the world. Are you fluffing with me? In fact, I should be revising biology right now. Oh well, yolo right?

Shall we start with Alina? Let me just throw this out there: she was a very weak character most of the time. She always needed someone to defend her, whether that was the Drakling, Mal or Genya. I dunno, I just don’t particularly like weak main characters in fantasy. I’m eager to see more of her development though.

Maybe I missed this information but I still don’t know what the Darkling actually is. Sure he cuts people in half and summons darkness, but I still don’t get it. Does the dude even have a real name? I’m up for a destroyed, dark character such as the Darkling is but I found him uninteresting at first and was more into Malina (is this the right ship name?) and their he’s-a-duck-and-he-doesn’t-even-realise-it-but-I’m-still-in-love-with-him-and-he-doesn’t-even-realise-it thing even if that pissed me of a bit. The Drakling was described as the most powerful man in Ravka and one would think he’d be very lethal and evil. But he joked, smiled, preformed, was sweet. I was just dissapointed at the beginning. But boy oh boy did this turn into a whole Red Queen thing. NUŠA LIKEY. A lot. It was all just a play. (Or was it?) Only when Alina was on the run and he was starting to obsess over her was when I started fangirling all over him. What does that say about me lol?

”Make me your villain.”

This triangle is messing with my head. As much as I love insane characters, Mal wasn’t so bad either. I’m a sucker for shipping people who have been friends since their childhood. Although as I said, he did annoyed me at first and I was so proud of Alina when she let him go but I started to like him when he was on the run with her. What’s with me and someone running away with someone from someone?

”I’m not like you, Mal. I never really fit in the way you did. I never really belonged anywhere.’

You belonged with me.”

There were things that bugged me. I just wanted more of the world okay. Even though I read SoC & CK I was still struggling to remember who can do what (Heartenders, Fabricators etc). This is probably my fault because as I said many times before, my memory sucks and don’t get me wrong, Grisha power is cool and quite unique but what I’m trying to say is that I just wanted another 100 pages full of the world’s description. I’m sure there will be action in the next books but I was kinda bored but kinda not in this one – this happens a lot with me. I hated the ball thingy scene. What even was the point? And other than the Grisha power everything was so YA fantasy-y.

But I loved the Russian-inspired setting especially because Russian is kind of similar to Slovenian so it was awesome knowing/suspecting what the characters were saying without the need of the translation. This may sound weird to other people but if you live in a country so small as Slovenia is, you start to appreciate little things such as these. I’m one of those people who read the Six of Crows duology before The Grisha trilogy so everytime Fjerda was mentioned I just died a little. Also, Bardugo’s writing improved big time if we’re comparing the two.

I’m too lazy to find a gif to sum it up so here, have a kitten:

meow-kitten.gif

Sincerely,

podpis2

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

