SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: These Broken Stars by Amie Kufman & Meagan Spooner

13138635.jpg

Series: Starbound #1

Genre: Science Fiction, YA

Length: 374 pages

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Publication Date: December 10th 2013

Personal Rating: 4/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

 

 

 

Synopsis

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

Non-Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

I will never understand how two people can write a book together, let alone a whole trilogy. I suck at expressing my thoughts and ideas so I’m very confused at how do they do it with each other. (scratch that, everyone other than me is way better at expressing themselves (have you read my reviews? Sheesh, my thoughts are all over the place)) What if one wants something and the other something entirely else? Like death of a character, for example. Yeah, they compromise but I feel it’s still hard…? First you have to compromise with your own head and then with another person – that’s too much work for a lazy person such as I am. How do they make up characters? Like, is one character written by one author and one characters by the other? Same goes with the chapters. How much time does it take them to write this whole damn thing (a logical answer would be ‘in a shorter time than usual’ because there’s 2 people working on it rather the 1, but if they have to compromise all the time and actually speak the ideas and not just have it in their head, that takes some time, no?) and how do you not kill each other in the process of writing it? I’m so confused, yet …

… I BOW TO CO-AUTHORING, I really do.

And I bow to Kufman and Spooner because they did an excellent job! Marvelous, ladies. Just marvelous.

I’m very strict when it comes to romantic relationships in books and movies (and also real life) so it’s very hard to please me with writing one and still, I pick a book up I know romance has an important part in it, romance that I probably won’t like. Voila, These Broken Stars. I indeed did not have a very good feeling about the romantic part of the story and was very suspicious at first but dude, I liked it very much at the end. It was nothing like insta-love, just as I like it. What can I say, I’m a sucker for people who hate each other at first *khm* Rowaelin *khm* and with it slow-buildingness (is that even English?) it made my critique side very happy. I’m also in the middle of reading This Shattered World, the second book in the series, and I got to their scene and I’m actually smiling. So, good job.

Lilac Rose LaRoux. Untouchable. Toxic. I should’ve been named Ivy, or Foxglove, or Belladonna.

Lilac was my fave. I love when you have this spoiled, rich character that isn’t spoiled at all, just rich. I absolutely love her character development and her strength throughout the whole book. I liked how Tarver still managed to be a gentleman even though Lilac drove him crazy and I laughed multiple times while reading his interview. I also just learnt with writing this review that he’s not Traver, oops. (see, this is a reminder as of why you should never read my reviews)

As I said before, I love reading from multiple PoV so the whole idea of being stuck in only two heads of the people who are constantly together made me hesitate – I just expected it to be boring because of it. But it’s action-packed and full of mystery which confused me at times but I liked it either way. I’m all up for a survival story – dude, I’ve seen far too many episodes of Bear Grylls’s adventure TV series growing up. And although sci-fi isn’t my favorite cup of tea, to combine the two is fluffin’ awesome. Overall, it’s easy to get through, maybe sometimes confusing with the used expressions and  I did feel that the end was kind of rushed and I’d liked to see more, but still very much enjoyable.

To sum up:

tumblr_mdvgjxx4r11rfcdu4o3_500

Even though this review is short, it took me a while to write it. The mainest of the main reasons is that I’M A MOM. (And also, I’m lazy af)

Meet Lava, my precious aussie baby:

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

(blog post about her coming soon (I think))

x,

podpis2

3 thoughts on “SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: These Broken Stars by Amie Kufman & Meagan Spooner

Leave a Reply

