BOOK REVIEW: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

20821111

Series: The Young Elites #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA

Length: 355 pages

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: October 7th 2014

Personal Rating: 5/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

 

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.

Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.

It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

It is pointless to believe what you see, if you only see what you believe.

Dude. I. LOVE. DISSSS. BOOK. I aloe it vera much.

You know the struggle every reader has when deciding which book to pick up next. I pick my books up based on my mood. And I change my moods very quickly and often. That’s why I don’t fluff with TBRs anymore – I could be in a mood for a book at the moment of choosing the To Be Read list, but I avoid it when it comes to actually picking the book up 99% of the time, because I’m just not in the mood for it anymore even if it’s my favorite genre or has great reviews from peeps I trust.

To help with the deciding you pick one book up, read a couple of pages, see if you’re in the mood for it or if you even like it or not and move on to the next one if you don’t and do the same to that second book. Or fourth, or seventh, or 14th. You do you, gurl.

So this happened with The Young Elites. I picked some other books before I tried this one and before I knew it, I was over 100 pages in already and didn’t even notice. Ah, yes, I love these kind of books.

 Everyone has darkness inside them, however hidden.

You know what, I myself am annoyed at my ridiculous book rating. But there are reasons why I give a book 4.9 stars and what can I say, I’m a very strict person when it comes to rating. But you know what, fluff it, The Young Elites gets a full 5 out of 5 stars. Yay! New year, new me. 😀 You’ve got it all; action-packed story, hella awesome malfettos’ powers, light romance that surprisingly didn’t annoy me, awesome characters and even more awesome villains and my personal favorite, a touch of darkness to the story.

I am Adelina Amouteru. I belong to no one. On this night, I swear to you that I will rise above everything you’ve ever taught me. I will become a force that this world has never known. I will come into such power that noone will dare hurt me again.

Oke, I luv Adelina. The girl has only one eye and that’s new and I absolutely loved that. She did make some bad decisions and I wanted to scream at her to just tell the truth already, but she’s still my favourite out of all the characters. I’m in love with her power and I’m in love at how she struggled with all this madness she was in but she still managed to be strong at the end and refused to be used again. Bring on the badassness, Nuša’s ready!

Enzo enters with a sweep of dark robes, bringing with him the scent of wind, night, and death.

Enzo. Mah boi. The synopsis is very misleading with its ‘Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side’ –  I thought he’d do something horrible to her and though he did use Adelina in some way, he wasn’t cruel about it as I imagined him to be. I’m kind of obsessing over him and I’m kind of not ashamed. I love seeing badass characters such as he is brushing tears from another person and telling them they’re stronger than that. I actually felt true sadness when he was killed. This kid grew on me, okay. And I felt even more sadness because Adelina helped with that, even if she didn’t mean to. I had this urge to just flip the pages and see if he comes back and making myself refuse to do that was on of the hardest thing I’ve done in a while. But Adelina’s life continues and I’m running out of pages and I’m freaking the fluff out. And then I remember they once said a thing about a malfetto that can bring people from the dead or something like that and I suddenly get my hopes up again. My baby can be saved! And the epilogue is told from this new character’s point of view, Maeve (any ToG fans out there that shudders at the name too or is that just me?), maybe she’s got anything to do with it. But there’s a problem –  there’s only a page or two left of the book. Poop.

And then the words ‘I need to pay Kenettra a visit‘ saved me and I NEED TO READ THE SECOND BOOK LIKE RIGHT NOW but I have no time and IT ABSOLUTELY KILLS ME.

I thought there will be a love triangle, no jokes. I thought Teren was  going to realize he’s a duck and will join Adeline with ‘But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle’ and I was already planning of how I’ll complain about spoiling the book with that description. But boy, oh boy does it get better. Teren is probably one of my favorite villains out there. I mean, we all know he’s gonna realize the queen is using him at some point, but I actually love she has a big part in his madness and I have this feeling he’s going to join Adeline afterall. I kinda wish he doesn’t.

I loved Raffaele and his friendship with Adeline but I wasn’t the hugest fan of Violetta at first. She just made me, I dunno, nervous, maybe? She was all kind and sweet with Adelina and that made be suspicious so I thought she’ll turn against her at the end. But I must admit, the sweet characters that turn out be evil are my kind of thing so I was curious of what she’ll become. Um, so she wasn’t evil. Like never. And I don’t know if that bugs me or not. But I still didn’t lose interest in her when her powers were revealed – which by the way; awesooome. It did annoy me at first though as did it annoy Adelina because the latter was always alone when it came to these kinds of things, but Violetta did make me like her a bit more after she helped with the mission. So no hard feelings with her.

Once upon a winter / I met a man in the woods / The man beckoned me over / To see a satchel of goods / He offered three wishes / I asked for beauty, love, riches / And he froze me in stone where I stood.

—”The Greedy Ghost of Cypress Pass,” common folk song

To sum up:

tumblr_inline_ml0l38MWJd1rva7dr.gif

Sincerely,

podpis2

 

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

