BOOK REVIEW: The Rose Society by Marie Lu

23846013

Series: The Young Elites #2

Genre: Fantasy, YA

Length: 398 pages

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: October 13th 2015

Personal Rating: 5/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

 

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she flees Kenettra with her sister to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good when her very existence depends on darkness?

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

What is so great about being good?

Still going strong with full 5 stars. For a person who tries as hard as she can to avoid horror books/movies, I have a weak spot for dark stories and I love dark characters even more. And dude, this book was hella dark. So of course it gets that rating.

No. I’m not broken easily. I will never break.

Okay, I know it’s wrong but I freaking love this dark Adelina we have. She’s an actual villain and I’m all here for that. But although she was all angry and at the verge of madness at times, I couldn’t help but feel sorry for her. She gets used, betrayed, shooded away, everytime someone shows her some love she thinks they’re doing it for their own good. And although she’s so determined she will never break, she’s already broken and she does not deserve this.

Enzo inherited a throne. Giulietta relied on her royal blood. Queen Maeve rules Beldain because she was born to it.

But true rulers are not born. We are made.

Is it bad that I’m love with moments where Adelina lost control? One of my favorite parts of the book was her and Violetta’s final scene. I actually thought Adelina was going to kill her sister and never did I once screamed ‘noooo!!’ while reading it as I would often do with other books. What does that say about me? I still haven’t forgotten Violetta’s cowardice when the sisters were little. Or well, before their father died. I know she tried to and actually did help Adelina with her powers, but still. Adelina’s gone through so much and she’s still so young and she’s my baby, so when Violetta took her powers away without Adelina’s permission, I understood the latter’s fury and anger towards her and actually supported her at it. All was also written so freaking good, with the whispers, telling Adelina lies exactly as they did to Teren, with the breakdown afterwards and then with Adelina rising on her feet and finally sitting on the throne. Just awesome.

Set this world on fire, Enzo. With everything you have.

Remember when I had high hopes with finding a solution for Enzo’s death in my The Young Elites review? Yeah, the first time Raffaele set his eyes on Maeve and Tristan, I started to fear the idea of bringing Enzo back. I just knew the new Enzo is never going to be the old one and that thought saddens me more than anything. I just want my babies to be happy. And then I found out he’s gonna be much more powerful than Tristan and that he could have the power to control over the one he has the bond with aka my precious Adelina. Adelina’s power is also controling and just the thought of someone controling someone else is very uncomfortable, but I unlike her, I started to really fear Enzo, being very suspicious of him and when he first controled Adelina I silently hoped he gets killed again. Because things couldn’t be more complicated already. But then at the end with him and Raffaele and them leaning against each other my heart just kinda broke a little and I got my hopes up in a more positive way and wished he someday becomes the old Enzo, the Enzo I loved. If not for Adelina, at least for Raffaele’s sake then. And it also made me ship them, oops.

Sometimes, love can bloom like the tiny flower hidden in the tree’s shadow, found only by those who know where to look.

Do you also remember how much I praised Enzo in TYE? Well, update: I think I love Magiano much more, and it isn’t just because Enzo and Adelina aren’t besties anymore. It feels like he’s the light in all this darkness with his jokes , adding ‘my love’ to every sentence aimed at Adelina (which btw how Warner is that? Lovin’ it) and his way of comforting Adelina and actually caring for her and not just for the gold he was after. I’ve found another precious baby. *whispers creeply* I also hardcore ship him with Adelina and it’s so hard not to browse every corner of Tumblr with their names put in the search bar.

Oh my dear Lord. Teren. The ultimate villain. I’m obsessed with his obsession with the queen. Teren is the definition of madness and I’m loving it. Although putting malfettos in their own camps under his command made me feel super uncomfortable because we’re getting to Hitler in History class and it just reminded me of all the concentration camps.

All in all, The Rose Society deserves those 5 stars with its characters, the ones who want the evil aswell as the few who want the good , and its power of having you in its grip all the way untill you finish the whole book. This trilogy is on its way of becoming one of my favourites.

The irony of life is that those who wear masks often tell us more truths than those with open faces.

To sum up

tumblr_nudonwuntc1ue7k3ro1_500

Sincerely,

podpis2

 

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Rose Society by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

