BOOK REVIEW: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows

22840421.jpgSeries: The Lady Janies #1

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, YA

Length: 491 pages

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication Date: June 7th 2016

Personal Rating: 2.5/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

 

 

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England.

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

‘I could go after him,’ Jane suggested. ‘With my frying pan.’

‘He’s not worth it, my dear. Save your frying pan for someone who matters.’

I have a friend that loves to read too but she doesn’t like fantasy (I’d slap her if I could but she’s the only one who reads that I know personally and I can’t lose her lololol (jk, luv u, non-fantasy readers :))))(no, but really. Start reading fantasy))) and loooves historical fiction which I’m not the biggest fan of. But because I’m the greatest friend one could wish for, I started looking up historical books so our time together won’t only consist of  me speaking of Kaz Brekker and her rolling her eyes at me because I’ve confessed my love towards him to her for the 73 057th time, but we could talk about the greatest queens and kings of history and hot Highlander men and such too. Cue My Lady Jane. MLJ was pretty hyped up when it came out and I’ve been trying to ignore those books recently but it is a retelling of the reign of Edward VI and of the Nine-Day Queen and that gave an idea of a topic I and my friend could talk about. (Every once in a while I still mention Kaz to her, don’t you worry (by ‘once in a while’, I mean every time we see each other, nothing’s changed.)) Also, it’s comedy and me likey comedy.

My thoughts upon finishing this book are ‘idk, man. idk.’ I enjoyed reading it, but though I often found myself laughing out loud, I had some issues with it. And by some I mean quite a lot.

First of all: no one dies. Bo-ring.

And secondly: remember me saying I don’t understand how co-authoring works in my (spoiler-free) review of These Broken Stars by Kaufman & Spooner? Well, this book was written by three ladies. Three! What. Even. Yet again, I bow to you. But ladies, unfortunately you didn’t do it for me.

Well, this book rather felt boring and though I absolutely loved all the nose and horse jokes, MLJ’s humor is about the only thing that keeps me for giving it a lower rating.  I found some moments to be so unnecessary (the Great White Bear (or whatever) scene for instance). I hate when moments like these happen in a book: literally no big epic fighting scene (again, no one even got hurt let alone killed, disappointed) and then the characters are standing before their enemy and literally begging them ‘um, so btw, u like, don’t belong on this throne, can u like, move ur ass or something, plz, thanks m8.’ Dude, really? I myself wanted to stab Edward in that moment because he just sounded so fluffin stupid, thinking he’ll got what he wants just by asking nicely. And what happens? Mary gets angry and turns into a mule and Edward is the highlight and hero of the day and everybody loves him yet again. The ending was just so weak and I hated that but I was going to lose it if Edward was the king again and was so happy Bess was the one who sat on the throne. At least that.

Which brings me to the fact that I pretty much disliked everyone except Gran and Bess.

Edward was a spoiled, boring, weak boy and I had the strongest urge to scream at him whenever he had something to say against women. I didn’t understand why G didn’t tell Jane about his love for poetry, I’m sure a girl like her who literally reads 7 592 books a day wouldn’t mind, don’t you think? I had mixed feelings about Jane. Tough I liked how stubborn and well-educated she was, what I found so stupid about her was when she was complaining there weren’t any books to read while her people went to ‘war’. Or when she and G had to take a moment while people were probably dying outside. Probably. (Hopefully. (because I’m still not over the fact that no one died (am I being cruel right now?)))

(But then again, what even was that one-day war, am I right or am I right?)

And I didn’t like any of the love relationships. None. Yay.

‘You love me?’ she whispered.

‘The very instant I saw you, my heart flew to your service,’ he said.

‘Really?’

‘No,’ he admitted. ‘Not exactly. But it’s a good line, am I right?’

On the bright side, what happened was that, well, I got a bit obsessed after reading My Lady Jane. We didn’t discuss much of queens and kings in the 16th century in school so I decided I would research the poop out of this era myself. And researched I did and fun I had. Or have. I’m currently studying the Mary, Queen of Scots’ family tree (btw, did no one have any imagination when it came to naming their children? Why were there so many Henrys and Marys (how do you put these names in plural lol?))

My Lady Jane also made me watch historical TV series. I just binge-watched the whole itv’s TV series called ‘Victoria’ which I’m OBSESSED with and I TOTALLY recommend. (This comes from someone who gets bored quite fast and easily and doesn’t stick to TV aswell as book series and can’t even finish season 1, so me telling you I watched the whole season in half a day must mean something.) Also, Albert is my bae, k, bye.

To sum up:

3126501

(to brighten up the mood, look at my smoll child (please watch Victoria, thanks))

tumblr_ogi7luavzz1qhut37o2_400

Sincerely,

podpis2

 

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows

Leave a Reply

