(a very short) SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

517Bf26IjpL

Series: Standalone

Genre: Poetry

Length: 156 pages

Publisher: CreateSpace

Publication Date: April 23rd 2016

Personal Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

 

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

“Ah, life- the thing that happens to us while we’re off somewhere else blowing on dandelions & wishing ourselves into the pages of our favorite fairy tales.”

A poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. Explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

Non-Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

i have

so much love

to give,

but no one

ever wants 

it.

I have a math test tomorrow. I should study. I should definitely study.

Oh well.

I’m not a big poetry fan. I’m quite fascinated that a book such as The Princess Saves Herself in this One hasn’t got many words in it but can have such a big meaning. But I’m not the most patient person in the world so I don’t read a certain poetry repeatedly and wait for it to sink in. I’ve only read Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur before and I wasn’t the biggest fan so that kind of ruined my first real experience with poetry. The only ‘poetry’ I read on Tumblr before that. Which so many people are angry about; that this poetry is just like scrolling through Tumblr. And dude, TUMBLR IS MY SECOND HOME.

So, yeah, I like The Princess Saves Herself in this One. Because I’m one of those people who reblog really cheesy but also meaningful quotes.

But I don’t love it. Unfortunately.

I don’t get poetry. I like it but I don’t get it (if that makes sense).

i don’t

know

why

t

h

i

s

has to

happen after

every

word

– confused nuša (maybe it’s the math’s fault)

And if hitting enter means writing poetry does this mean this lonely self-pity sentence isn’t poetry?

everyone i love leaves

(ahh, I see the resemblance with Tumblr now)

But if I try really hard to ignore how many trees had to be taken down for this book, I love the message it sends. I like how raw, how emotional, how honest it was, all of it in such a short book. I love how personal it felt and it made me feel almost bad reading it because of that. I enjoyed the feminist poetry the most. The synopsis says it all, basically: ‘Explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.’ And plus, the title & the cover are both beautiful. ( you can see how much time I spend on Tumblr just by read this sentence, oops.)

there is not

enough

rain water

in all

the skies

to rinse

the

innocent

blood

from

your hands.

– their lives will always matter

To sum up:

giphyhggh

i must

return

to

the death

of me

aka

math.

help,

podpis2

5 thoughts on “(a very short) SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

Leave a Reply

