SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

7741325

Series: Dash & Lily #1

Genre: Contemporary, YA

Length: 260pages

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: October 26th 2010

Personal Rating: 4/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

 

 

 

Godreads Synopsis

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Non-Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

I started this book at about 11.30 p.m yesterday. As one does. So I can defend myself with my tiredness when I tell you I didn’t know this book was written by two people. Oopsy daisy. I’m sorreh, okay, I’m just going through a minor reading slump and while I was scrolling through my phone, not knowing which book will be chosen for me to yet again try to read but ending up not and forgetting about it (and also feel really sorry for the book), I came upon Dash & Lily, too tired to read the synopsis or reviews, too tired to even look at the front page to see who the author is (or authors in this case, I guess), too eager to try and see if my reading slump has finally left me and I just started it. Because I guess I’ll do anything to shoo that biatch away, even if that means choosing a book that is set in New York at Christmas time when it’s literally April in two days in your world. (I mean, you do you is always what I say.)

Umm… It worked? And I like the book I chose? SWEET!

So moral of this story is, kids, choose a Christmas-y book all while being 102% prepared for summer and voila, reading slump no more. You can thank me later.

I feel like Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares is probably my favorite contemporary so far. It has the P.S. I Like You by Kasie West feel, but better. I call it a sucess at how I knew when I was in one’s head because Dash’s voice was different that Lily’s. I loved how so many unimportant and rambling stuff was added as the character’s thoughts (mostly Lily’s) and I laughed a lot while reading this book because of that. I loved the Christmas-y feel because why not fantasize about snow when the tulips outside your house have finally started to bloom. I can totally relate to Dash and Lily because I myself am better at writing my feelings that to speak them too. I absolutely loved Lily’s aunt and Boomer. And of course Boris.

The problem I had with this one was the jumping between Lily and Dash’s and their catching up. I, as I said before, am not the most patient person one could meet so I just wanted to get quickly to the moment where one finally reads what the other wrote in that notebook and their dares and instructions. I liked Dash’s view a bit more because I just felt Lily was a bit immature for my likings and I also couldn’t take her family cute nicknames that they have for her. Sorry, can’t deal with ‘Lily-bear’. The story itself is a bit unrealistic aswell but hey, I still enjoyed it very much.

To sum up:

kj.gif

Sincerely,

podpis2

2 thoughts on “SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Leave a Reply

