SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

28101540

Series: Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, YA, Mental Health

Length: 320 pages

Publisher: Clarion Books

Publication Date: January 3rd 2017

Personal Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Diversity Bingo 2017: MC with an Invisible Disability

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

 

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her windows and social media feed.

But when Luke arrives on her doorstep, he doesn’t see a girl defined by medical terms and mental health. Instead, he sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. And Norah likes what he sees.

Their friendship turns deeper, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can walk beneath the open sky. One who is unafraid of kissing. One who isn’t so screwed up. Can she let him go for his own good—or can Norah learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?

Non-Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

I’m trying to read more diverse books this year so when I came upon Diversity Bingo 2017 of course I had to check it out. It’s such a cool idea and it made me want to participate right away. I’m a bit late to the party though and just colored my first square (main character with an invisible disability) and it’s so awesome that your first choice becomes one of your favorite books. I’m mentally high-fiving myself.

I watched emmmabooks rave about this book in her mental health recommendation/2017 releases video and I had to look it up, obviously, because dude, the cover is GORGEOUS. Also I’ve never read a book with a MC like Norah and I wanted to try it out.

Am not disappointed.

It’s so interesting at how invested in a character’s story you get even if you don’t have/are not familiar with the mental illness(es) she/he has – you can just see from this that it’s an own voice book because Gornall just wrote it so well. It’s so fascinating to me that every time Norah started to breathe fast, I started to breathe fast.

I started reading a book with an autistic character as the MC in March but ended reading just about 100 pages because I slightly spoiled myself. (What’s new, really?) The spoiler basically said the autistic man is saved from his demons by a girl he met. And truthfully, I hate that trope. I was a bit scared starting Under Rose-Tainted Skies just for that reason. But at the end I had nothing to be scared of: Norah fights her mental illnesses on her own AND I FLUFFIN’ LOVE THAT! You go girl!

As a support she has her mom – whom I love dearly – and Luke – who’s the cutest. For a boy his age it’s a bit unrealistic but still very nice of him to try to understand her mental illnesses rather then push her or ask her stupid questions. We need more characters like he is.

I got a bit confused at the end. The plot twist very unexpectable, but tbh very interesting. Read the book and you’ll now what I’m talking about. I’d also love to see more of the mains’s parent’s bacgrounds.

To sum up:

715508.gif

Sincerely,

podpis2

 

Goodreads / Bookstagram / Twitter / Tumblr

4 thoughts on “SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

Leave a Reply

