SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

25701463.jpg

Series: Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, YA, Disability

Length: 297 pages

Publisher: Knopf

Publication Date: March 7th 2017

Personal Rating: 3.75/5 stars

Diversity Bingo 2017: d/Deaf/Hard of Hearing MC

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

 

Goodreads Synopsis

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

Silence is the loudest sound.

You’re Welcome, Universe is my second read book for Diversity Bingo 2017 and I’m already enjoying it so much. With my reading sump away it gives me inspiration to read more and more and more and I’m lovin’ it. It actually took me a lot to open WordPress and start writing this review just because I want to continue on with the list as soon as I can.

I absolutely love the diversity in You’re Welcome, Universe. A Deaf Indian-American main character with two moms? Count me in!

I watched the first season of Switched at Birth, a TV series with multiple d/Deaf/hard of hearing main characters but that was a while ago so remembering some of the sign language from the (beautiful) illustrations in You’re Welcome, Universe was quite fun for my rusty brains. I also read Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover whose MC is also a part of the Deaf community and my neighbour is hard of hearing but I still learned so much from this book and how hard can being deaf be and I appreciate it all.

Also, I couldn’t wait and rushed through the description of every illustration just so I could see them for myself. I love this feeling. I also just found out that the Illustrator is the author herself: I BOW TO YOU, WHITNEY.

Why only 3.75 stars then? Well, there’s Jordyn. I know these characters are meant for us to hate them because they’re so stupid but dude, Jordyn is sooooooo stupid. Ugh, you see, this is why I’m more of a guy+guy or guy+girl friendship supporter than a girl+girl one. The drama just won’t stop. Don’t get me wrong, I’m one of those people who say they hate drama and then watch/listen to it with big interest anyway, but this was just over the top for me. Jordyn makes me angry with Julia because Julia didn’t punch Jordyn. (Multiple times.) She certainly made me throw my phone against the wall. Ughhhhhhhhhh. I know kids can be mean but I still don’t get the drama between Julia and Kyle. I thought it will be that hate to love kind of situation at first but then prayed I’m wrong because of what Kyle did.

While others prefer YP over Julia, I love Julia the most. I have a weak spot for angry characters with flaws, okay (just read my The Young Elites reviews ;)). And YP was just too sweet for my likings although I grew fond of her at the end of the book. I surprisingly like their relationship too (anything better than Jordyn) and I love how important it is to the story.

All in all, I think every diverse book is important in its own way but I have yet to find my favorite book with d/Deaf MC.

My old art teacher told me I draw like a man. I’ve never forgiven him. I don’t draw like anything. I draw like everything. I draw like me. 

(sorry for this mess, as I said, I want to continue with diversity bingo as soon as I can)

Sincerely,

podpis2

Goodreads / Bookstagram / Twitter / Tumblr

2 thoughts on “SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

Leave a Reply

