BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas ft. Dean Winchester GIFs (i don’t even watch spntrl) + HAPPY EASTER! :D

77493_original.jpg

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses  #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Retellings

Length: 416 pages (paperback)

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Publication Date: May 5th 2015

Personal Rating: 4.25/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

Goodreads Synopsis

Feyre is a huntress.

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feeling for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

Guys. SIXTEEN DAYS TILL A COURT OF WINGS AND RUIN AFGJFHJGFHAHGJGH!!!!!1!!!11!! giphy (13)

In honor of release of the cause of my death I decided to reread ACoTaR and ACoMaF. And since I read A Court of Mist and Fury I’ve changed some of my thoughts on some characters and their actions. (*cough* we all know who I’m talking about. *cough*) But to not spoil those who have not read that perfection yet (what’s wrong with you???), I’ll write this review as if this was my first time reading A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Happy Easter! 😁 Finished rereading ACoTaR and I'm currently trying to write a review but it's so hard. My opinions on some characters changed when I read ACoMaF but I liked them in the first book. So it's very confusing writing about someone who you once didn't have nothing against but you do now. But you can't spoil people so you have to write the nice things you thought about them while reading ACoTaR for the 1st time all while being so angry at them because of what happened in the 2nd book. Does that make sense? Idk, I'm tired, k, bye. Also, I know I'm poop at taking pics and that this is the 684036th pic of ACoTaR books but I just don't care. #book #bookaddict #bookstagram #bookblogger #bookworm #bookwormproblems #acourtofthornsandroses #acotar #acourtofmistandfury #acomaf #acowar #sjm #sjmtrash #sarahjmaas #australianshepherd

A post shared by N (@whispersofthoughts) on

I’m debating my rating for this book. I’m a SJM trash so it’s a given that I like it. But I also had problems with it. Back in April of 2016 when I got this book in the mail and started reading it I just couldn’t get into it. If we’re comparing ACoTaR and ACoMaF, I flew thorugh ACoMaF in matter of days while it took me almost two months to finish ACoTaR. I struggled with the first 250 pages and present Nuša would give up on it entirely at just a 100 pages. Now I read it in three days but I still had to make myself continue on, finish it and not go straight to ACoMaF which I’m dying to pick up again. (if this review turns out as a mess – which it will – I blame it on ACoMaF.)

Untitled-4.png

(i’m cringing inside @ baby nuša)

But the party began once those 250 pages were read. When I say party I mean sweating, gasping, occasional crying and dying slowly. That’s all I did after going through that barrier, the first time read it as well as the second time.

773022I never had a full crying breakdown with SJM books. Sure, something fell in my eyes after finishing Empire of Storms and The Assassin’s Blade but other than that I was never a crying mess (just an emotional one). I didn’t cry in ACoMaF, surprisingly enough. I mean, I feel it in my bones that I will when I reread it, but as for now the answer is still no. Don’t even get me started about my prediction of my emotional stability when it comes to ACoWaR. Anyway, what I’m trying to tell you is that Nuša shed a tear. Or two. Maybe three, idk. And the reason is simply that I read a scene that was mentioned and explained in A Court of Mist and Fury. Emphasis on explained. And so I knew what the person who explained the scene from their perspective was thinking in the moment the scene was unrolling and I just broke a little. Because there was a reason behind their every doing and they’re my baby and I’m so thankful someone fictional like them exists. This doesn’t make sense to people who haven’t read the second book yet (seriously, pick it up right now!), but those who have know which scene(s) I’m talking about.

tumblr_nxyc047kVS1tq4of6o1_250.gifFeyre, my poor baby. She’s done so much for the people she loved and I absolutely loved her for it. This is the last part I’m writing and I’m struggling to find words for how much I admired this brave, strong woman because I hate repeating myself over and over again how much I loved a specific character and also I’m hungry so I’m gonna leave it at that. (But, seriously, I love Feyre.)

giphy (12).gifHow cute is that Rowan got me to read the Throne of Glass series and Rhysand the A Court of Thorns and Roses series? As seen from my goodreads ”update”, I said I picked it up, put it down, picked up ToG and only after finsihing that series did I pick up ACoTaR again. But it took me some time to actually continue with the book because I thought nothing was going to be as good as Throne of Glass books so I didn’t want to ruin my relationship with SJM in case ACoTaR isn’t going to get better for me. Where’s the logic in that, past Nuša? Ugh. Anywaysss, I ignored but then I came upon this collage of really aesthetically pleasing pictures with this really cool quote spoken by Rhys as caption on Tumblr.  Not a spoiler, just a quote. Long story short, rebloged the collage of pictures, looked up the quote, found it belongs to ACoMaF and finally decided to pick ACoTaR up again, eager to get to the 2nd book because I suspected Rhys is going to be a bigger part to the story and I learned enough from what I read (untill I put the book down) that I wanted to learn more about him. So yes, Rhysand is basically the reason I started this series and the reason I kept going on in those 250 pages.

de927b69692a0446215e1d5221f6da96.gifAnd now for my actual thoughts about him and not just my rambling: at first I thought he was a biatch. But Nuša apparently loves bad boys as seen on the picture above (*snorts*) and the fact that he’s the reason I didn’t give up on this book still made me not hate him. He was just annoying to me at times. He ‘purred’. Nuša likey. Although I did get angry at him for grabbing Feyre’s injured hand with force when he tried to get her to say yes to their bargain, the first time I read ACoTaR aswell as the second.

tenor (1).gifI liked Tamlin. Liked but not loved him which is kind of a shock for me since baby Nuša loved every main character in every book back in the beginning of 2016 when I just got back to reading. I guess it’s got to do with me seeing Rhysand’s name on Tumblr first. Who could understand my brains, really? He was sweet and I actually admired him when he sent Feyre back even though he still had 3 days left for Feyre to say she loves him and that he tried not be like his family. When he pretended he didn’t know Feyre Under the Mountain with his blankness and quietness it made me feel relieved but also angry. Relieved because I knew he tried to protect her, but angry because he didn’t try harder to at least help her with the tasks. Speaking of which, wtf Feyre, pretty much everyone who read this book knew the answer to that riddle the moment it was spoken?!
8e646bcfad4f8efe109e8abbadeaaee0.gifI forgot how much fun Lucien was. I cracked up when he was supporting and encouraging Tamlin at complimenting Feyre. Rhysand was cheeky, but Lucien was spot on funny.

tumblr_noys9d85kt1sl2tnbo1_500.gifI hated Nesta at first. After all Feyre’s done for her, for her entire family, she just went out and spent all of Feyre’s hard earned money on some stupid stuff. No, I haven’t forgiven her, even as she was doing that to test her father. Poor Feyre.

HAHHAHA.gifAmarantha is one hell of a villain. I hate her for what she did to my poor babies. Not cool. But tbh she’s my favorite villain even if I hate her with all my existence. She’s so smart and wicked and dark and true, she scares the poop outta me but she’s still a great villian.

All in all I loved the story I just wished I didn’t lost interest at the beginning. SJM’s writing is good, I especially loved how she wrote the scene with Feyre hearing music in her cell. *le cries*

*fiding dean’s gifs made me watch gag reel from all of supernatural seasons for the 6950th time even though i haven’t even watched 3 whole episodes*

Sincerely,

podpis2

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas ft. Dean Winchester GIFs (i don’t even watch spntrl) + HAPPY EASTER! :D

Leave a Reply

