BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas + ACoWaR Theories (kind of)

23766623.jpgSeries: A Court of Thorns and Roses  #2

Genre: Fantasy, I honestly don’t know if this is still considered YA or if it’s NA, Retellings

Length: 624 pages (paperback)

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Publication Date: May 3rd 2016

Personal Rating: 10000000/5 stars

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne, kar je ful glupo, ker hočem, da vsi veste za to serijo *heart eyes*

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Feyre is immortal.

After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Faerie Queen, she returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But Feyre cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people – nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

As Feyre is drawn ever deeper into Rhysand’s dark web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil far greater than any queen threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate.

She must surrender her heart to heal a world torn in two.

Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

acomaf

I always thought I will never EVER write a review for A Court of Mist and Fury. You see, it is in doubt this is my #1 favorite book – yes, #1, and it doesn’t share that place with any other books. (Am I even a proper bookworm then?) Therefore I LOVE IT WITH ALL MY HEART. Love the characters, the world, the plot, the writer. So I never wanted to write a review because of that – because writing ‘I love this’ or ‘I love that’ or ‘I love her’ or ‘I love him’ over and over and over again is annoying to read afterwards but also those words can’t really explain the love I have for this book, not really. But I’m coming with a review to you anyways because I’m in a state where I don’t care if I and my blog are a mess and I just want to talk about my babies. I am apologizing in advance for the overuse of certain words.

Firstly let’s talk about Tamlin. Tamlin the Tool. The Tamlin everyone hates. The Tamlin I hate. Okay, I said in my ACoTaR review that I was kind of neutral when it came to him in that book. He was kind and sweet but also a dumbass. At the beginning of  ACoMaF however he was just a dumbass. Ughhh, dude, you ruin everything! I remember reading this book for the 1st time and when I read the scene where he doesn’t get up and soothe Feyre while she’s vomiting. I was sooo angry at him that I wanted to pull my own hair out. Imagine how angry I was when he locked her in the house – though I was confused what happened and reread that sequence at least three times till it sinked in. What the actual fluff, Tamlin?! So I was angry at him at the beginning but the hate for him slowly grew inside me myself but hasn’t yet taken a form. The full hate came at the end when he commanded, I repeat, commanded Feyre to come back to Spring Court. When he spat he didn’t care Feyre was Rhysand’s mate while Rhys wanted Feyre to be happy to the point he didn’t stop her from marrying his enemy. That’s when I lost my poop. And from this sweet, kind Fae he became to this motherfluffin’ shit whom I’ve been mentally punching in his tan-lined face with a chair for the past year. And that makes me sad, it truly does. As for the A Court of Wings and Ruin theory(ies): I think he is going to die. I just don’t see him in the future. And I think by dying he will save Feyre somehow and him dying will be his way of apologizing to what he’s done to Feyre. Either that or he finds his mate – which some people say they believe Rhysand’s sister is still alive and that she’s Tamlin mate. I myself don’t think she’s still alive but it’s a good theory nonetheless. And I owon’t lie, an interesting one too.

Rhysand on the other hand is everyone’s salvation. I can’t begin to explain how much I love this baby bat and it’s so cheesy to say that but what he’s helped me go throughsome rough times. Reading his scenes where he’s talking about what monstrous things he did to protect Velaris or when he’s talking about how he wanted Feyre to be happy even though it destroyed him or when he’s talking how Feyre is her own person even if she’s his mate – reading these things every once in a while helped me forget my own demons. I’m tearing up a bit right now because I can’t thank Sarah enough for creating Rhys. I just want him to be happy. ❤

I don’t know why, but I always save Feyre for last. I find it hard to write about her so I’ll keep it short. I was quite surprised how much she was pushed around since she was all badassery in ACoTaR. I absolutely love how SJM portrayed Feyre’s depression – I was so weird the day I read those pages and was all moody because of it, not even my devil animals didn’t cheer me up. I love her development and growth even if there’s something dark about her. At the end, when she decides she’ll pretend and then her new friends look at her with understanding in their eyes I CRIED LIKE A NEWBORN BABY. Like actual snot and difficulties with breathing and everything.

1

I want to be a part of the Cout of Dreams. (Who doesn’t?) Like dude, if I get mad at one of them I want to paint a moustache under the person’s eyes Feyre painted too. I love how they all supported and encouraged Feyre in comparison to Spring Court. I fluffin’ adore everyone but if I were to decide who beside Feysand is my favorite I’d say Amren. I just loved her relationship with every single one of them – especially with Cassian I laughed my arse off when she got in a fight(s) with him (”Tiny Anciet One” *dead nuša*).  And she’s small and I love small people. 😀 I think she’s a dragon, fight me, and I think the title A Court of Wings and Ruin’s word ‘wings’ is actually meant for her and not for Cassian and the Illyrians. BAD-ASS! And she’s literally my biggest hope when I think about what’s going to happen in ACoWaR. I also think she’s the one who’s going to die but she’ll return to her home/world that way. And just thinking of that makes me cry because the squad wouldn’t be complete without her and I’d miss her so much…

I found this post on Tumblr by Dreams of Shadows and Starlight about Amren yesterday:

”Remember when Feyre and Amren talked about her favourite kind of blood? Amren said that although it wasn’t her most favourite, goat blood reminded her of “some other times, some other place”…

Now, do you remember how Manon climbed mountains just to catch goats for Abraxos?”

Mind fluff.

Cassian is everything. Let’s just leave it at that.

Nessian is ENDGAME. I don’t think Cassian and Nesta are mates tho but it sounds tempting. Feyre said Nesta was different once she got out of Cauldron – dude, I bet she has some strong power/ability. So I guess Nesta and Cassian could be mates since mates are equal in every way. Someone on Tumblr also said something about her being a half-Illyrian or something like that: this has to do with SJM mentioning female Illyrians warriors Cassian’s been training and maybe that’s just a coincidence but why would SJM get into (minor) details about them if they aren’t going to have a big part to the story? I mean, I love that Illyrian females are warriors too because girl power! but I still think this has to do with Nesta. And there’s that thing with the ears… That’s just my way of thinking and duuuude, I wasn’t a big fan of Nesta in the first book but I fell in love with her in this one and this makes me so excited even if this is just a theory.

Azriel must be protected ATT ALL COSTS! Why do I love him and he must not die?

  • Moriel’s endgame
  • He’s so calm and quiet and precious
  • Moriel’s endgame
  • Cinnamon roll
  • His relationship with Rhys warms my heart
  • Moriel’s endgame
  • I want to hear his story so badly!
  • Baby bat ❤ ❤ ❤
  • Mor was the only one who convinced him to dance
  • Moriel’s endgame
  • Mor thinks Azriel isn’t interested in her and that thinking needs to change
  • Elain was only comfortable with him
  • His longing for Mor
  • Mor’s longing for him
  • Moriel’s endgame
  • I just want him to be happy is that too much to ask

Though I say Moriel’s endgame I don’t really think they’re mates. It’s mentioned that the mate bond is rare so I think Feysand and Lucien x Elain are enough. But some people do say they’re mates but one of them didn’t accept it and I’m here like: WHY, THO? WHYYYY?

My precious baby Lucien.  I’m a bit wary when it comes to him and Elain but I know I’ll love the ship at the end because it’s Sarah J. fluffin’ Maas. I’m so looking forward him turning against Tamlin and I have this crazy thought he’s going to be a High Lord of Autumn – don’t know how will it happen, but I think it will and Autumn Court will have an alliance with the Night Court at the end. I also want to see other courts so much, especially Winter Court and Dawn Court since I belong to the latter.

All that’s left is Ianthe, the queens, the King of Hybern and Jurian. Also known as the Club of I-hope-you-all-suffer-when-my-baby-Feyre-and-her-friends-kill-you. This is a well known theory: Sarah said Calanmai happened while Feyre was in the Night Court so Tamlin had his fun and everyone thinks the chosen one was Ianthe and that she’s now pregnant with him. That scares the poop outta me. I also have this weird feeling that we’re not done with Amrantha. Lord save me.

lavacomaf2

All in all, if A Court of Mist and Fury wasn’t the cause of your death, A Court of Wing and Ruin will.

To sum up

e005ec7dea2c4449a2643e38e20ce9d7.gif

x,

podpis2

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas + ACoWaR Theories (kind of)

Leave a Reply

