SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

10015384._SY540_.jpg

Series: Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, YA, LGBTQ+

Length:  320 pages

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Publication Date: April 7th 2015

Personal Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Diversity Bingo 2017: Practicing Jewish Main Character

Lahko to knjigo najdem v slovenščini? Ne

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Non-Spoilery Review by Yours Truly

Let’s pretend I don’t have a paper due Wednesday that I had three months to work on and I haven’t done anything yet and just enjoy this review. Okay? Okay.

I don’t remember if I’ve ever read a book where it’s mainest (is that English?) main character is gay/lesbian before starting Diversity Bingo. *insert game of thrones gif ‘shame’* Sure, I’ve read books with these characters before but they were mostly side characters or were one of the many main ones and didn’t get the full spotlight. But I’ve been doing some research for more diverse books recently, focusing more on the LGBTQ+ ones and my TBR list has increased big time. I’m not even sorry though because all  the books I found sound hella awesome and I can’t wait for this hell aka school to end so I have time to read them all. (*crazy laughter from the background because I will never get through my never-ending tbr*)

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda was amongst those books. Though I’ve heard of it before but never really picked it up. Why I didn’t read it sooner, I still don’t know.

Dude, this book was so cute and fluffy and was a great distraction from school. (Which I guess that’s a bad thing but I really don’t care at this point in my life.)

What I liked about this book the most was the relationship between Simon and his friends and family. Though the biggest reasons of why this didn’t get a full 5 stars rating is because Leah was treated very badly and she didn’t deserve it and I felt sorry for her for most of the time. But I liked how cool and chill Simon was with Nick and Abby. I don’t have many guy friends – lol, who am I kiddin’, I don’t have many friends in general – so I could never be as chill around dudes like Abby was. Then again, I’m also socially awkward so… I also loved Alice and how she calls her sibling bub and boop. Cuteness overload. Also, Simon’s parents are hella awesome. Simon himself is actually quite funny and I laughed multiple times at his (poor, but hey I’m trash anyway) jokes. All in all, this book has some pretty cool characters.

I’m bad at guessing plots in general so I had no idea who Blue was. But awwwww, I’m so happy who he is. The moment I finished this book I looked up every scene he was in before we knew who he was – I’m so bad at getting hints I’m actually quite mad at myself. I ship it so hard.

You know how romance contemporary books are: you have 300 pages of two people just slowly falling in love and then bam!, they kiss once, they get together and the end. No continuing on. No after ever after. Nada. But with this book I loved it didn’t just end like that and we actually got a few scenes after that Special Moment. Nuša likey.

Would 10/10 recommend.

Sorry for this short review. As I said, I have a paper to write lol. Wish me luck.

To sum up:

cute.gif

Sincerely,

podpis2

 

Goodreads / Bookstagram / Twitter / Tumblr

 

3 thoughts on “SPOILER-FREE BOOK REVIEW: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Leave a Reply

