Top 5 Wednesday [#1]: Summer Reads

I would write a WWW Wednesdays post today but I started reading like 3 books at once and I literally haven’t read any of them in this past week. Oops. But I’ve seen these T5W posts everywhere and they’re always so fun to read so why not join and write this post instead. So here we are.

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Samantha on Thoughts on Tomes. (speaking of which btw, I love her videos! 10/10 would recommend!) To find all the information about T5W, head over to the Goodreads Group.

toop 5.jpg

May 17th: Summer Reads
The weather is heating up (for half of the world), so what books remind you of summer and are your quintessential summer reads?

Summer is THE perfect time to read a contemporary. When I hear the word summer I think of myself lying on the beach with a chick-lit book in my hand that I can read in one sitting. (I live in a very small country so I could easily visit the beach and the mountains in one day because of the short distance between them but I actually haven’t been on the sea-side for years and I’ve never climbed a mountain. Where’s the yolo in that, Nuša??)

But since I’m more of a fantasy reader I’d like to focus on that genre along with some other ones. I’m cheating a bit and the books I’ll mention aren’t even summer-y, I just read them at that time so that’s why they remind me of summer. Also, summer is the time when you have free time so it’s perfect for some high fantasy if you ask me.

(I still would like to recommend every Kasie West book and Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli tho ;))

 

ava

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

Magical Realism, YA ; 5/5 stars

Firs of all: the cover *heart eyes* Second: the story *even bigger heart eyes* Such a beautiful book, both on the outside as well as on the inside! I remember that for some reason this reminded me so much of the movie Penelope starring James McAvoy and I LOVE that movie (okay, this made me want to rewatch it as soon as I’m done with this post). I was new to magical realism at the time but I fell in love with it after reading this book. 10/10 would recommend!

final

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson 

Fantasy, Adult ; 5/5 stars

I have yet to get to the other books in the series but I’m waiting for summer – see, these are perfect for that time because you have lots of free time and these books are biiig. But dude, Sanderson is a god when it comes to world building. The magic system is so interesting and awesome &Vin and Kelsier are my babies. I cried so much at the end of this book tho, it still hurts.

va

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Fantasy, YA ; 4.5/5stars

VA is my guilty pleasure, okay. I will always and forever recommend this books no matter the season even if they’re trash. (I’m trash too so it’s totally okay.) Dimitri will always be my bae.

 

daughter

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Fantasy, YA ; 5/5 stars

Though I read these books throughout the year, I finished the last one in summer and that’s why I’m putting it here. This whole trilogy is one of my favorites out there! The world is just so AMAZING (it also takes place in Czech Republic, how cool is that) and the characters are so unique and special to my heart. My baby cinnamon roll Akiva. And Zuza. Ahhh, now I really want to reread these books.

 

cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Sci-Fi, YA ; 3.75/5 stars

This story is a bit predictable at times but still VERY fun and interesting. Though I’m not the biggest fan of Meyer’s romantic relationships in her books, the pairing in this my favorite of them all so far. Also, Iko is EVERYTHING.

 

Happy Wednesday!

podpis2

 

Goodreads / Bookstagram / Twitter / Tumblr

Leave a Reply

